Members of the National Council for Expanding American Innovation

Federal government

Wilbur Ross

Secretary, Department of Commerce


Jovita Carranza

Administrator, U.S. Small Business Administration


Andrei Iancu

Under Secretary of Commerce for Intellectual Property and Director of the United States Patent and Trademark Office


Dr. Sethuraman Panchanathan

Director, National Science Foundation



Dr. Wayne A. I. Frederick, M.D., MBA

President, Howard University


Dr. Timothy Sands

President, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University


Dr. Wendy Wintersteen

President, Iowa State University


Michael K. Young

President, Texas A&M University



Mary T. Barra

Chairman and CEO, General Motors Company


Dr. Giovanni Caforio, M.D.

Chairman of the Board and CEO, Bristol Myers Squibb


Safra A. Catz

CEO, Oracle Corporation


Kathleen B. Fish

Chief Research, Development, and Innovation Officer, Procter & Gamble


Scott Frank

President and CEO, AT&T Intellectual Property, LLC


Alex Gorsky

Chairman and CEO, Johnson & Johnson


Dr. Kathryn Guarini, Ph.D.

Chief Operating Officer and Vice President for IBM Research, IBM


Steven Mollenkopf

CEO, Qualcomm Incorporated


Dave A. Ricks

Chairman and CEO, Eli Lilly and Company


Michael Roman

Chairman and CEO, 3M Company


Intellectual property associations

Barbara Fiacco

President, American Intellectual Property Law Association


Warren Tuttle

President of the Board of Directors, United Inventors Association


Nonprofit organizations

Brennon Marcano

CEO, The National GEM Consortium


Dr. Sudip Parikh, Ph.D.

CEO and Executive Publisher, American Association for the Advancement of Science


Dr. Karl W. Reid, Ed.D.

Co-founder, 50K Coalition, and Executive Director, NSBE

Dr. Stephen J. Susalka, Ph.D.



Independent inventors

Dr. Lonnie Johnson

Inventor, CEO and Founder of Johnson R&D


Dean Kamen

Inventor, Founder at FIRST (For Inspiration and Recognition of Science and Technology) and DEKA Research and Development


Venture capitalists

Dr. Deepa Pakianathan, Ph.D.

Managing Member, Delphi Ventures


Mallun Yen

Founder and Partner, Operator Collective VC Fund


Small business

Dr. Javier Diez, Ph.D.

Inventor, CEO, SubUAS, LLC and Co-founder and CTO at XTT