Members of the Council for Inclusive Innovation

Federal government

Gina M. Raimondo, Chair

Secretary, Department of Commerce


Kathi Vidal, Vice Chair

Under Secretary of Commerce for Intellectual Property and Director of the USPTO


Alejandra Castillo, Co-Vice Chair

U.S. Assistant Secretary of Commerce for Economic Development


TBD, Co-Vice Chair

Under Secretary of Commerce, Minority Business Development Agency (MBDA)


Laurie Locascio, Co-Vice Chair

Under Secretary of Commerce for Standards and Technology and the Director of the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST)


Dr. Sethuraman Panchanathan, Co-Vice Chair

Director, National Science Foundation


Shira Perlmutter, Co-Vice Chair

Register of Copyrights and Director, U.S. Copyright Office


Isabella Casillas Guzman

Administrator, U.S. Small Business Administration




President, Howard University


Dr. Timothy Sands

President, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University


Dr. Wendy Wintersteen

President, Iowa State University



Victor Aguilar

Chief Research, Development, and Innovation Officer, Procter & Gamble


Cristiano R. Amon

President and Chief Executive Officer, Qualcomm Incorporated

Mary T. Barra

Chairman and CEO, General Motors Company


Dr. Giovanni Caforio, M.D.

Chairman of the Board and CEO, Bristol Myers Squibb


Safra A. Catz

CEO, Oracle Corporation


Scott Frank

President and CEO, AT&T Intellectual Property, LLC


Alex Gorsky

Executive Chairman, Johnson & Johnson


Dr. Kathryn Guarini, Ph.D.

Chief Information Officer, IBM Corporation


Dave A. Ricks

Chairman and CEO, Eli Lilly and Company


Michael Roman

Chairman and CEO, 3M Company


Intellectual property associations

Barbara Fiacco

President, American Intellectual Property Law Association


Warren Tuttle

President of the Board of Directors, United Inventors Association


Nonprofit organizations

Brennon Marcano

CEO, The National GEM Consortium


Dr. Sudip Parikh, Ph.D.

CEO and Executive Publisher, American Association for the Advancement of Science


Dr. Karl W. Reid, Ed.D., CDP

Co-founder, 50K Coalition, and Senior Vice Provost and Chief Inclusion Officer at Northeastern University


Dr. Stephen J. Susalka, Ph.D.



Independent inventors

Dr. Lonnie Johnson

Inventor, CEO and Founder of Johnson R&D


Dean Kamen

Inventor, Founder at FIRST (For Inspiration and Recognition of Science and Technology) and DEKA Research and Development


Venture capitalists

Dr. Deepa Pakianathan, Ph.D.

Managing Member, Delphi Ventures


Mallun Yen

Founder and Partner, Operator Collective VC Fund


Small business

Dr. Javier Diez, Ph.D.

Inventor, CEO, SubUAS, LLC and Co-founder and CTO at XTT