Biotechnology/Chemical/Pharmaceutical Customer Partnership- August 2, 2017

The United States Patent and Trademark Office
 

The Bicoastal Biotechnology,
Chemical and Pharmaceutical (BCBCP)
Partnership Meeting

 

Wednesday, August 2, 2017

9:00am to 2:00pm (PDT)

12:00pm to 5:00pm (EDT)

 

We are pleased to announce the USPTO’s second Bicoastal Biotechnology, Chemical and Pharmaceutical Customer Partnership (BCBCP) Meeting. This BCBCP expands our long-standing partnership in this industry sector to customers across the country. The BCBCP Meeting will be held on August 2nd and will be simultaneously available at locations on both the EAST (Alexandria, VA) and West (Silicon Valley, CA) coasts. During the BCBCP, participants will be able to interact with Office personnel in-person on both coasts, or alternatively, via webcast. Please see below for information on how you can participate.

 

Date and Location:  The Partnership Meeting will be held on August 2nd from 12:00pm – 5:00pm (EDT) on the east coast and, at the same time, from 9:00am – 2:00pm (PDT) on the west coast. Participants in Central and Mountain time zones may join via webcast.

East Coast Location: West Coast Location:

United States Patent and Trademark Office Headquarters
Madison Auditorium
600 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA

Silicon Valley U.S. Patent and Trademark Office
California Training Room
26 S. Fourth Street
San Jose, CA 95113

 

The Biotechnology, and Chemical and Pharmaceutical Customer Partnership was developed to create a collaborative forum for USPTO customers in this industry sector to share ideas, experiences, and insights with USPTO staff.  The BCP is intended to be informal in nature and will include participants from across the industry. 


Some of the topics to be discussed by USPTO staff and industry customers will include:
 

  • Stakeholders’ perspectives on subject matter eligibility (101)
  • USPTO guidelines on subject matter eligibility (101)
  • Subject matter eligibility discussion panel
  • Update on Cancer Immunotherapy Pilot Program (Patents 4 Patients)
  • Update on the Sequence Rules

Agenda

9:00 – 9:20am (PDT)
12:00-12:20pm (EDT)
 
Opening Remarks
 

John Cabeca,
Director, Silicon Valley Office, USPTO (San Jose)
Andrew Wang
Director, TC1600, USPTO (Alexandria)
Daniel Sullivan
Director, TC1600, USPTO (San Jose)
Wanda Walker
Director, TC1600, USPTO
(Alexandria)

9:20 – 10:20am (PDT)
12:20-1:20pm (EDT)
USPTO Guidelines On Subject
Matter Eligibility (101)
 
Daniel Kolker,
Supervisory Patent Examiner AU1644,
TC1600 (San Jose)
 
10:20-11:10am (PDT)
1:20 – 2:10pm (EDT)
Stakeholders’ Perspectives On
Subject Matter Eligibility (101)
Jasemine Chambers
Of Counsel, Wilson Sonsini Goodrich
& Rosati (Alexandria)
 
11:10 –11:40am (PDT)
2:10-2:40pm (EDT)
Lunch (West Coast)
Discussion/Break (East Coast)
 
11:40am-1:10pm (PDT)
2:40-4:10pm (EDT)
Subject Matter Eligibility
Discussion Panel

Panelists:
Ali Alemozafar, Associate, Wilson Sonsini Goodrich
& Rosati (San Jose)

Daniel Kolker, Supervisory Patent Examiner
AU1644, TC1600 (San Jose)

June Cohan, Legal Advisor,  OPLA, USPTO
(Alexandria)

Leslie Fischer, Principal Patent Attorney, I&D, NS,
Ophtha Patent Group (Alexandria)

Moderators:
Daniel Sullivan, Director TC1600, USPTO (San Jose)
Zachariah Lucas, Quality Assurance Specialist,
TC1600 (Alexandria)

1:10-1:50pm (PDT)
4:10-4:50pm (EDT)

Update on Cancer Immuno-
therapy Program

WIPO Standard ST.26 Update (Nucleotide and Amino Acid Sequence Disclosures)
 

Gary Nickol, Supervisory Patent Examiner
AU1645, TC1600 (Alexandria)

Dave Nguyen, Supervisory Patent Examiner
AU1634, TC1600 (Alexandria)
 

1:50-2:00pm (PDT)
4:50-5:00pm (EDT)
Closing Remarks/Discussion Directors

Please check back and click here to view the final BCBCP Agenda once posted. The USPTO looks forward to hearing the individual views from its customers and does not intend to use this forum to seek or arrive at any consensus.  This customer partnership is formed with full recognition of the USPTO's responsibility under the Federal Advisory Committee Act (FACA), and accordingly, is not established as FACA compliant committee. 

To join the online event  

Event address for attendees: https://uspto-events2.webex.com/uspto-events2/onstage/g.php?MTID=e7d9ff6761417807aa593dfe38e1677c4
Date and time:  Wednesday, August 2, 2017 12:00 pm
Eastern Daylight Time (New York, GMT-04:00)
Duration:                5 hours
Event number:       313 832 984
Event password:    BCP1600

      Registration Information

 

Please email USPTOBCP1600@USPTO.GOV to register by July 30th. Please include “BCP Registration” in the email subject line.  In the email body, please include the following information:

  • Your name, title and organization
  • Contact information (e-mail, phone, etc.)
  • Your attending location (Alexandria, Silicon Valley, or online)

Directions and Parking information

East Coast Location: USPTO Headquarters, Alexandria, Virginia  

West Coast location: Silicon Valley USPTO, San Jose, CA