Nomination Evaluation Committee

The National Medal of Technology and Innovation Nomination Evaluation Committee reviews and evaluates all nominations for the National Medal of Technology and Innovation. Committee members generally are Chief Executive Officers or former Chief Executive Officers; former winners of the National Medal of Technology and Innovation; presidents or distinguished faculty of universities; or senior executives of non-profit organizations. As such, they not only offer the stature of their positions but also possess intimate knowledge of the forces determining future directions for their organizations and industries. The committee as a whole is balanced in representing geographical, professional, and diverse interests. 

The committee makes its recommendations for medal candidates to the secretary of commerce, who in turn makes recommendations to the president for final selection. Committee members are appointed by the secretary for three-year terms, with eligibility for one reappointment.


  • Dr. James N. Hollenhorst
    Senior Director of Technology, Agilent Technologies
  • Dr. Shirley Ann Jackson
    President, Rensselaer Polytechnic University
  • Dr. Ellen Ochoa
    Director, NASA Johnson Space Center
  • Dr. Luis M. Proenza
    President Emeritus, University of Akron
  • Dr. Paul R. Sanberg
    Senior Vice President of Research, Innovation & Economic Development, University of South Florida
  • Dr. Esther S. Takeuchi
    Chief Scientist, Global and Regional Solutions, Brookhaven National Laboratory