Office of General Law


The Office of General Law (OGL) is responsible for representing the USPTO in matters other than those involving intellectual property issues. In this regard, the Deputy General Counsel's office provides advice and written legal opinions on areas concerning the administration and management of the USPTO.

The Deputy General Counsel's office also represents the USPTO in administrative proceedings before the Merit Systems Protection Board (MSPB), Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC), Federal Labor Relations Authority (FLRA), Federal Services Impasse Panel (FSIP), and arbitrators. Administrative litigation includes negotiability appeals and Unfair Labor Practice cases before the FLRA, cases before the FSIP involving bargaining impasses, arbitration cases, MSPB cases, and EEOC cases. David Shewchuk is the Deputy General Counsel for General Law.


Office of General Law Staff

Deputy General Counsel for General Law: David Shewchuk
Senior Counsel for Regulatory and Legislative Affairs: Nicolas Oettinger
Senior Counsel for Labor and Information Law: Kathryn Siehndel
Senior Counsel for Employment Litigation:  Stacy Long
Attorneys:  Tashiana Adams
 Benjamin Ahlstrom
 Stefanie Baker
 Louis Boston
 Heidi Bourgeois
 Dorothy Campbell
 Tayra Hernandez-Celpa
 Tricia Choe
 Chieko Clarke
 Rachel Damelin
 Sharyn Danch
 Ashleigh Ferris
 Tracy Gonos
 Michael Gridley
 John Heaton
 Josh Hildreth
 Chris Horrigan
 Kyu Lee
 Taron Murakami
 Abigail Nawrocki
 Jennifer Seifert
 Kathryn Siehndel
 Jennifer Williams
 Nicole Wishart
 Patrick Wong
Paralegals: Traci Alexander
Charletta Blackshear
Janet Drescher
Shirley Hassan
Juliana Lee
Karon Seldon
Management and Program Analyst: John Otto
Administrative Management Specialist: Shawn Walker