2019 National Inventors Hall of Fame Induction

The National Inventors Hall of Fame (NIHF), in partnership with the USPTO, will honor and celebrate the world’s foremost inventors and their contributions to society at the annual induction ceremony on May 2 at the National Building Museum in Washington, DC.

The 2019 inductees are visionary innovators who each patented inventions that revolutionized their industries and changed people’s lives. Of the 15 new inductees, five will be honored posthumously.

NIHF was established in 1973 by the USPTO and honors monumental achievements by individuals who have contributed great technological and scientific innovations, as well as helped stimulate growth for our nation and beyond. The criteria for induction into NIHF requires candidates to hold a U.S. patent that has contributed significantly to the nation's welfare, and the advancement of science and useful arts. The inductees are honored at the National Inventors Hall of Fame Museum located in the Madison Building on the USPTO campus in Alexandria, Virginia.

This year’s class of inductees includes:

NIHF will honor both the new and previous inductees in a two-day celebration in May. It will kick off May 1 with the Illumination Ceremony at the NIHF museum at USPTO headquarters in Alexandria, Virginia, followed by the induction ceremony on May 2 at the National Building Museum in Washington, DC. Danica McKellar, star of the TV show "The Wonder Years," Hallmark Channel regular, mathematician, and author of "Math Doesn't Suck," among other books, will be the master of ceremonies.