2014 Laureates - National Medal of Technology and Innovation

The National Medal of Technology and Innovation (NMTI) is the nation’s highest honor for technological achievement, bestowed by the president of the United States on America's leading innovators. There were 3 laureates in the 2014 class.

Portrait of Dr. Arthur Gossard
Arthur Gossard
University of California, Santa Barbara

For innovation, development, and application of artificially structured quantum materials critical to ultrahigh performance semiconductor device technology used in today’s digital infrastructure.




Portrait of Dr. Chenming Hu
Chenming Hu
University of California, Berkeley

For pioneering innovations in microelectronics including reliability technologies, the first industry-standard model for circuit design, and the first 3-dimensional transistors, which radically advanced semiconductor technology.




Portrait of Dr. Cato Laurencin
Cato T. Laurencin
University of Connecticut

For seminal work in the engineering of musculoskeletal tissues, especially for revolutionary achievements in the design of bone matrices and ligament regeneration; and for extraordinary work in promoting diversity and excellence in science.