2013 Laureates - National Medal of Technology and Innovation

The National Medal of Technology and Innovation (NMTI) is the nation’s highest honor for technological achievement, bestowed by the president of the United States on America's leading innovators. There were 5 laureates in the 2013 class.

Photo of Dr. Joseph DeSimone
Joseph M. DeSimone
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, North Carolina State University, and Carbon3D

For pioneering innovations in material science that led to the development of technologies in diverse fields from manufacturing to medicine; and for innovative and inclusive leadership in higher education and entrepreneurship.


Portrait of Dr. Robert Fischell
Robert E. Fischell
University of Maryland, College Park

For invention of novel medical devices used in the treatment of many illnesses thereby improving the health and saving the lives of millions of patients around the world.


Portrait of Dr. Nancy Ho
Nancy W.Y. Ho
Green Tech America, Inc. and Purdue University

For the development of a yeast-based technology that is able to co-ferment sugars extracted from plants to produce ethanol, and for optimizing this technology for large-scale and cost-effective production of renewable biofuels and industrial chemicals.


Portrait of Dr. Mark Humayun
Mark S. Humayun
University of Southern California

For the invention, development, and application of bioelectronics in medicine, including a retinal prosthesis for restoring vision to the blind, thereby significantly improving patients’ quality of life.



Portrait of Dr. Jonathan Rothberg
Jonathan Marc Rothberg
4catalyzer Corporation and Yale School of Medicine

For pioneering inventions and commercialization of next generation DNA sequencing technologies, making access to genomic information easier, faster, and more cost-effective for researchers around the world.