2010 Laureates- National Medal of Technology and Innovation

The National Medal of Technology and Innovation (NMTI) is the nation’s highest honor for technological achievement, bestowed by the president of the United States on America's leading innovators. There were 5 laureates in the 2010 class.


Rakesh Agrawal shakes hand with President Barack Obama

Rakesh Agrawal
Purdue University, IN

For an extraordinary record of innovations in improving the energy efficiency and reducing the cost of gas liquefaction and separation. These innovations have had significant positive impacts on electronic device manufacturing, liquefied gas production, and the supply of industrial gases for diverse industries.

B. Jayant Baliga shakes hand with President Barack Obama

B. Jayant Baliga
North Carolina State University, NC

For development and commercialization of the Insulated Gate Bipolar Transistor and other power semiconductor devices that are extensively used in transportation, lighting, medicine, defense, and renewable energy generation systems.

C. Donald Bateman shakes hand with President Barack Obama

C. Donald Bateman

For developing and championing critical flight-safety sensors now used by aircraft worldwide, including ground proximity warning systems and wind-shear detection systems.

Yvonne C. Brill poses with President Barack Obama

Yvonne C. Brill
RCA Astro Electronics

For innovation in rocket propulsion systems for geosynchronous and low earth orbit communication satellites, which greatly improved the effectiveness of space propulsion systems.

Michael F. Tompsett shakes hands with President Barack Obama

Michael F. Tompsett

For pioneering work in materials and electronic technologies including the design and development of the first charge-coupled device (CCD) imagers.