1994 Laureates- National Medal of Technology and Innovation

The National Medal of Technology and Innovation (NMTI) is the nation’s highest honor for technological achievement, bestowed by the president of the United States on America's leading innovators. There were 6 laureates in the 1994 class.

Amgen logo


For its leadership in developing innovative and important commercial therapeutics based on advances in cellular and molecular biology for delivery to critically ill patients throughout the world.



Corning logo

Corning Inc.

For a series of technological innovations yielding a wide range of extraordinary products, from pollution control materials to space shuttle windows. For life changing and life enhancing inventions which made possible entire new industries - lighting, television and optical communications.




Joel S. Engel, Ameritech, Inc. and Richard Frenkiel, AT&T Consumer Products

For his fundamental contributions to the theory, design and development of cellular mobile communications systems.



H. Joseph Gerber shakes hands with President Bill Clinton

H. Joseph Gerber

Gerber Scientific, Inc.

For his past and continuing technical leadership in the invention, development and commercialization of manufacturing automation systems for a wide variety of industries - most notably apparel - which have made those industries more efficient and cost effective in today's worldwide competitive environment.



Irwin M. Jacobs shakes hands with President Bill Clinton

Irwin M. Jacobs

Qualcomm, Inc.

For his vision, innovation and leadership in the field of digital wireless communications over the past 25 years; and for his development of Code Division Multiple Access as a commercial technology adopted as a U.S. digital cellular standard providing increased capacity, quality and services and greatly enhancing the U.S. position in the international telecommunications marketplace.