Trademark Public Advisory Committee Members Biographical Information

Adraea Brown

Ms. Brown is Vice President & Assistant General Counsel at H-D U.S.A., LLC (Harley-Davidson). Since 2015, she has also served as Vice President & Legal Director, and Vice President & Senior Trademark Counsel at Harley-Davidson. Ms. Brown is responsible for leading Harley-Davidson’s in-house trademark team, which includes oversight of a portfolio of over 5,000 global trademarks, trademark enforcement, and litigation. She also serves as legal support for the company’s multimillion-dollar licensing and general merchandise business. She has been an International Trademark Association (INTA) member since 2015, and was the Co-Chair of INTA’s Global Brand Transactions & Due Diligence Subcommittee (2020-2021). Ms. Brown is serving her first term as a TPAC member.

David J. Cho (Vice Chair)

Mr. Cho serves as Assistant Vice President Senior Legal Counsel-Trademarks and Copyrights at AT&T Inc., a Fortune 10 company with over 268,000 employees, where he oversees five IP managers and outside counsel to protect large international trademark and domain name portfolios. Mr. Cho is responsible for all trademark matters involving the parent company, subsidiaries, and affiliates, including the intellectual property company. His work includes advice, counseling, clearance, prosecution, licensing, mergers and acquisitions, enforcement, and litigation.  Prior to his current position, Mr. Cho was a Senior Trademark Associate at Pillsbury Winthrop Shaw Pittman, LLP; a Trademark Associate at Banner & Witcoff, LTD, and from 1990 to 1995, he was a Trademark Examining Attorney at the USPTO. Mr. Cho is serving his first term as a TPAC member.

Tracy L. Deutmeyer

Ms. Deutmeyer is a Shareholder with the firm of Fredrikson & Byron, P.A., where she advises clients on all aspects of U.S. trademark and copyright law, including the availability, prosecution, maintenance, acquisition, defense, enforcement and licensing of rights.  She manages the worldwide trademark portfolios of U.S.-headquartered clients and the U.S. trademark portfolios of companies headquartered outside the U.S.  From 2005 to 2018, Ms. Deutmeyer worked at McGrath North Mullin & Kratz, PC LLO, as an Associate until 2007, when she became a Shareholder.  Ms. Deutmyer was also an Associate at Dickinson, Mackaman, Tyler & Hagen, P.C. from 2002 to 2005. Ms. Deutmeyer is serving her first term as a TPAC member. 

Rodrick J. Enns

Mr. Enns is a Founding Partner of Enns & Archer LLP, where his practice focuses on the law of branded products, including strategic counseling in the creation and protection of brands; trademark, copyright, and advertising litigation; advertising clearance, counseling, and compliance; and antitrust and trade regulation counseling and litigation. Prior to his current position, Mr. Enns was a partner at Kilpatrick Stockton LLP, and he currently serves on the INTA PAC Board of Governors, a non-partisan political action committee that amplifies INTA members’ perspectives in U.S. IP legislation and policy. Mr. Enns is serving his first term as TPAC member.

Jomarie B. Fredericks

Ms. Fredericks is the Deputy General Counsel and Chief Intellectual Property and Brand Counsel at Rotary International and the Rotary Foundation.  Ms. Fredericks’s practice includes experience with trademarks, international trademarks, copyrights, licensing, privacy and sponsorship/cooperative relationships, general corporate law, contract drafting, review and negotiation, litigation management, and corporate governance for a global not-for-profit corporation consisting of 35,000 member clubs and its charitable foundation.  She is the 2020 Vice President of the International Trademark Association (INTA) Board of Directors, as well as a group officer and a member of INTA’s executive committee.  Ms. Fredericks serves on the Advisory Board of the Center for Intellectual Property, Information, and Technology Law of the John Marshall Law School in Chicago, Illinois, where she provides counsel to the faculty and staff on the development of the intellectual property (IP) curriculum, the means to serve the IP bar, and important changes in IP law and practice.  She also recently completed a two-year term on the Board of Managers of the Intellectual Property Law Association of Chicago. Ms. Fredericks is serving her first term as a TPAC member.

Jennifer L. Kovalcik

Ms. Kovalcik serves as Vice President Technology & Intellectual Property Counsel for Community Health Systems. As the primary IP counsel, she drafts and negotiates agreements, including software, subscription, data usage, hosting, trademark licensing, confidentiality, and data security agreements for approximately 100 hospitals in multiple states. Ms. Kovalcik advises business teams on negotiation strategies and risk analyses. She also has experience with contract disputes, IP enforcement, IP due diligence, and litigation. She received her bachelor’s degree and law degree (Valedictorian) from the University of Louisville, Louis D. Brandeis School of Law. Ms. Kovalcik is serving her first term as a TPAC member.

Susan M. Natland (Chair)

Ms. Natland is a Partner and Co-Chair of the Trademark and Brand Protection Group at Knobbe Martens, where she advises on all aspects of domestic and international brand protection and enforcement, advertising law, unfair competition, copyright, and data privacy and security matters. Her practice includes domestic and foreign trademark selection and clearance, trademark procurement and prosecution, ex parte and inter partes proceedings before the USPTO Trademark Trial and Appeal Board, trademark audits, licensing, domain name disputes, counterfeit goods and customs, copyrights, entertainment law, rights of publicity, and trademark and copyright enforcement and litigation. Ms. Natland is active with the International Trademark Association (INTA), where she has served as Chair of the Enforcement Committee and held numerous other leadership positions. She was an adjunct professor for UCLA School of Law for several years, teaching the Law School Clinic Certification Program in partnership with the USPTO. She has also served on her firm’s Executive Committee and was virtual in-house trademark counsel for a major Internet retailer for almost two years.  Ms. Natland is also Chair of her firm’s Data Privacy and Security Group, a certified data privacy specialist by the IAPP, and a registered patent attorney. Ms. Natland received her bachelor’s degree from UCSB, and her law degree from UCLA School of Law. Ms. Natland is serving her first term as a TPAC member.

Dana Brown Northcott

Ms. Northcott serves as Vice President and Associate General Counsel, IP, at She leads a global team responsible for all brand protection and enforcement; domain name and generic top-level domain (gTLD) portfolios; content protection; and anti-piracy, anti-counterfeiting, internet governance, and trademark public policy for each of Amazon’s business areas and subsidiaries. Ms. Northcott developed an IP protection program at Amazon, building and leading a team of over 42 attorneys and staff in developing and safeguarding a global portfolio of approximately 3,000 brand assets. Ms. Northcott is serving her first term as a TPAC member.

Tricia McDermott Thompkins

Ms. Thompkins joined Shoe Show, Inc. in February 2021 as General Counsel, where she manages the shoe retailer’s legal operations supporting its more than 1100 retail stores and commercial real estate operations. She previously served as Executive Vice President, General Counsel and Secretary of Perry Ellis International, Inc., where she managed the company’s global legal operations. Ms. Thompkins is serving her first term as a TPAC member.

Union Representatives

  • Jay Besch
  • Pedro Fernandez
  • Harold E. Ross