Two American inventors win 2022 European Patent Office innovation prizes

The European Patent Office (EPO) today honored MIT chemistry professor Donald Sadoway with the 2022 European Inventor Award in the “Non-EPO countries” category and U.S. student and scientist Erin Smith with first place in the inaugural Young Inventors prize.

More about Donald Sadoway from the European Patent Office website.

More about Erin Smith from the European Patent Office website.

Under Secretary of Commerce for Intellectual Property and Director of the United States Patent and Trademark Office, Kathi Vidal, personally recognized these American innovators’ outstanding achievement.

“My congratulations to Professor Sadoway and Ms. Smith for winning the European Inventor Award and EPO’s Young Inventors prize, respectively. Their award-winning innovations – liquid metal batteries that increase the reliability of wind and solar power by storing large amounts of renewable energy and an artificial intelligence-powered facial recognition app that detects early signs of Parkinson’s disease – are two impressive examples of American ingenuity that impact our world for the better. We hope that others are inspired by their ideas and by their journeys of innovation. Congrats!”