Apollo 50: The role of intellectual property in space commerce

some text in white font; image of American flag and man in space suit on the moon

To commemorate the 50th anniversary of the moon landing, the USPTO will host an event focused on space innovation, technology transfer from the Apollo missions, and an overview of the current administration’s policy on space exploration and space commerce. 

Featured speakers include federal government executives, astronauts, inventors, and commercial space industry executives:

  • Secretary of Commerce Wilbur Ross
  • NASA Administrator Jim Bridenstine
  • Under Secretary of Commerce for Intellectual Property and Director of the USPTO Andrei Iancu
  • Director of the Office of Space Commerce Kevin O'Connell
  • Deputy Under Secretary of Commerce for Intellectual Property and Deputy Director of the USPTO Laura Peter
  • Former Associate Director, Satellite Servicing Capabilities Office, NASA and National Inventors Hall of Fame inductee Frank Cepollina
  • Astronaut Kathryn Sullivan
  • Astronaut Paul Richards
  • Manager of Stakeholder Communications at ISS National Laboratory Christopher Ingraham
  • President and CEO of the Coalition for Deep Space Exploration Dr. Mary Lynne Dittmar
  • CEO of NanoRacks Jeffrey Manber
  • Founder and Chief Strategy Officer of Slingshot Aerospace Melanie Stricklan

The public is also invited to view the National Inventors Hall of Fame® Museum's special exhibit honoring NASA’s Apollo 11 moon mission, featuring NIHF inductees and the impact their innovations have had on our nation’s space flight and exploration efforts.

This event is sold out. Overflow viewing is available in the upper atrium at USPTO headquarters in Alexandria, Virginia. There will also be a live broadcast of the event on Facebook Live.