Skip over navigation

The National Medal of Technology and Innovation 2005 Laureates

2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006 | 2005 | 2004 | 2003 | 2002 | 2001 | 2000 | 1999 | 1998 | 1997 | 1996
1995 | 1994 | 1993 | 1992 | 1991 | 1990 | 1989 | 1988 | 1987 | 1986 | 1985

2005 Laureates

Alfred Y. ChoAlfred Y. Cho

Alcatel-Lucent Bell Labs, Murray Hill, NJ

For his contributions to the invention of the molecular beam epitaxy (MBE) technology and the development of the MBE technology into an advanced electronic and photonic devices production tool, with applications to cellular phones, CD players, and high-speed communications.


Dean L. SickingDean L. Sicking

University of Nebraska-Lincoln, Lincoln, NE

For his innovative design and development of roadside and race track safety technologies that safely dissipate the energy of high-speed crashes, helping prevent fatalities and injuries.


Wyeth PharmaceuticalsRonald J. Eby, Maya Koster, Dace Viceps Madore, Velupillai Puvanesarajah

Wyeth Pharmaceuticals

For their work in the discovery, development and commercialization of Prevnar, the first-ever vaccine to prevent the deadly and disabling consequences of Streptococcus pneumoniae infections in children.



GenzymeGenzyme Incorporated

For pioneering dramatic improvements in the health of thousands of patients with rare diseases and harnessing the promise of biotechnology to develop innovative new therapies. 


Semiconductor Research CorporationSemiconductor Research Corporation (SRC)

For building the world's largest and most successful university research force to support the rapid growth and advance of the semiconductor industry; for proving the concept of collaborative research as the first high-tech research consortium; and for creating the concept and methodology that evolved into the International Technology Roadmap for Semiconductors. 



XeroxXerox Corporation

For over 50 years of innovation in marking, materials, electronics, communications, and software that created the modern reprographics, digital printing, and print-on-demand industries.


United States Patent and Trademark Office
This page is owned by Office of the Chief Communications Officer.
Last Modified: 7/8/2014 12:06:04 PM