Skip over navigation

The National Medal of Technology and Innovation 2002 Laureates

2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006 | 2005 | 2004 | 2003 | 2002 | 2001 | 2000 | 1999 | 1998 | 1997 | 1996
1995 | 1994 | 1993 | 1992 | 1991 | 1990 | 1989 | 1988 | 1987 | 1986 | 1985 

2002 Laureates

Calvin H. CarterCalvin H. Carter

Director of Materials Technology, Cree, Inc., Durham, NC

For his exceptional contributions to the development of silicon carbide wafers, leading to new industries in wide bandgap semiconductors and enabling other new industries in efficient blue, green, and white light, full-color displays, high-power solid-state microwave amplifiers, more efficient/compact power supplies, higher efficiency power distribution/transmission systems, and gemstones.


Haren S. GandhiHaren S. Gandhi

Ford Technical Fellow, Ford Motor Company, Dearborn, MI

For his research, development, and commercialization of automotive exhaust catalyst technology, shaping the industry from its very beginning and continually pushing to improve the quality of the air we breathe. Also for leading the automotive industry in ensuring the judicious use of precious metals, including conservation measures such as recycling of spent converters and technological advances in precious metal utilization.


Carver A. MeadCarver A. Mead

Polaris Venture Partners, Waltham, MA

For his pioneering contributions to microelectronics that include spearheading the development of tools and techniques for modern integrated-circuit design, laying the foundation for fabless semiconductor companies, catalyzing the electronic-design automation field, training generations of engineers that have made the United States the world leader in microelectronics technology, and founding more than twenty companies.


John Mooney and Carl KeithJohn J. Mooney and Carl D. Keith

Engelhard Corporation

For the invention, application to automobiles, and commercialization of the three-way catalytic converter. Through their persistent efforts, this technology is the key emission-control component in all new light-duty vehicles in the United States and throughout the world.


Nick Holonyak, George Craford and Russell Dean DupuisNick Holonyak, Jr., M. George Craford, and Russell Dean Dupuis


For contributions to the development and commercialization of light-emitting diode (LED) technology, with applications to digital displays, consumer electronics, automotive lighting, traffic signals, and general illumination.


DuPontDuPont (Division Award)

Wilmington, DE

For policy and technology


United States Patent and Trademark Office
This page is owned by Office of the Chief Communications Officer.
Last Modified: 7/8/2014 12:07:56 PM