Skip over navigation

The National Medal of Technology and Innovation Recipients

2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006 | 2005 | 2004 | 2003 | 2002 | 2001 | 2000 | 1999 | 1998 | 1997 | 1996
1995 | 1994 | 1993 | 1992 | 1991 | 1990 | 1989 | 1988 | 1987 | 1986 | 1985


1999 Laureates

Glen Culler

Glen CullerChief Scientist and Chairman of the Board (retired)
Culler Scientific Systems Corporation

For pioneering innovations in multiple branches of computing, including early efforts in digital speech processing, invention of the first on-line system for interactive graphical mathematics computing and pioneering work on the ARPAnet.

Back to top

Raymond Kurzweil

Raymond KurzweilFounder, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer
Kurzweil Technologies, Inc.

For pioneering and innovative achievements in computer science such as voice recognition, which have overcome many barriers and enriched the lives of disabled persons and all Americans.

Back to top

Robert Swanson

Robert Swanson(Posthumous Award), Chairman of K&E Management, Ltd.

For his foresight and leadership in recognizing the commercial promise of recombinant DNA technology and his seminal role in the establishment and development of the biotechnology industry.

Back to top

Robert Taylor

Robert TaylorFor visionary leadership in the development of modern computing technology, including computer networks, the personal computer and the graphical user interface.

Symbol Technologies, Inc. For creating the global market for laser bar code scanning and for technical innovation and practical application of mobile computing and wireless local area network technologies.

Back to top

United States Patent and Trademark Office
This page is owned by Office of the Chief Communications Officer.
Last Modified: 2/11/2014 12:58:40 PM