Skip over navigation

The National Medal of Technology and Innovation Recipients

2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006 | 2005 | 2004 | 2003 | 2002 | 2001 | 2000 | 1999 | 1998 | 1997 | 1996
1995 | 1994 | 1993 | 1992 | 1991 | 1990 | 1989 | 1988 | 1987 | 1986 | 1985


1991 Laureates

Stephen D. Bechtel, Jr.

Bechtel Group, Inc.

For his outstanding leadership in the engineering profession with special recognition for his contributions to the development and application of advanced management techniques to world-class industrial projects.


C. Gordon Bell

Stardent Computers

For his continuing intellectual and industrial achievements in the field of computer design; and for his leading role in establishing cost-effective, powerful computers which serve as a significant tool for engineering, science and industry.


Geoffrey Boothroyd and Peter Dewhurst

University of Rhode Island

For their concept, development and commercialization of Design for Manufacture and Assembly (DFMA), which has dramatically reduced costs, improved product quality and enhanced the competitiveness of major U.S. manufacturers.


John Cocke

International Business Machines Corp.

For his development and implementation of Reduced Instruction Set Computer (RISC) architecture that significantly increased the speed and efficiency of computers, thereby enhancing U.S. technological competitiveness.


Carl Djerassi

Stanford University

For his broad technological contributions to solving environmental problems; and for his initiatives in developing novel, practical approaches to insect control products that are biodegradable and harmless.


James J. Duderstadt

University of Michigan

For his excellence in the development and implementation of strategies for engineering education; and for his successes in bringing women and minorities into the Nation's technological work force.


Robert W. Galvin

Motorola, Inc.

For advancement of the American electronics industry through continuous technological innovation, establishing Motorola as a world-class electronics manufacturer.


Grace Murray Hopper

U.S. Navy (Ret.)/Digital Equipment Corp.

For her pioneering accomplishments in the development of computer programming languages that simplified computer technology and opened the door to a significantly larger universe of users.


F. Kenneth Iverson

Nucor, Inc.

For his concept of producing steel in minimills using revolutionary slabcasting technology that has revitalized the American steel industry.


Frederick M. Jones and Joseph A. Numero

Thermo King, a subsidiary of Westinghouse Electric Corp.

For their development of refrigeration technology for trucks, trailers, boxcars, ships and planes which revolutionized the preservation and distribution of food and other perishables; and for their development of a worldwide sales and service network.


David W. Thompson, Antonio L. Elias, David S. Hollingsworth and Robert R. Lovell

The Pegasus Team: Orbital Sciences Corporation and Hercules, Inc.

For their invention, development, and production of the Pegasus rocket, the world's first privately developed space launch vehicle, that has opened the door to greater commercial, scientific and defense uses.


Charles R. Reed

General Electric Co.

For his management risk-taking in continuous innovation leading General Electric Company to world-class production of advanced engineering materials.


John Paul Stapp

U.S. Air Force (Ret.)/Space Center

For his research on the effects of mechanical force on living tissues leading to safety developments in crash protection technology for automobiles, aircraft, trains, manned space flight and other modes of transportation.


United States Patent and Trademark Office
This page is owned by Office of the Chief Communications Officer.
Last Modified: 2/11/2014 12:49:57 PM