Skip over navigation

Office of the Solicitor

The Office of the Solicitor serves as legal counsel to the United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) on intellectual property law matters.  The Solicitor’s Office also works in collaboration with the Department of Commerce on interagency intellectual property law matters.  The Acting Deputy General Counsel for Intellectual Property Law and Solicitor is Nathan Kelley. 

The Solicitor’s Office primary responsibilities include:

  • Defends decisions by the Board of Patent Appeals and Interferences (BPAI) and the Trademark Trial and Appeal Board (TTAB) before the United States Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit and the federal district courts
  • Represents the Under Secretary of Commerce for Intellectual Property and Director of the USPTO (Director) in district court actions that are filed against the USPTO pursuant to the Administrative Procedure Act (APA)
  • Provides legal advice on intellectual property law policy and regulation
  • Prosecutes attorneys and agents who practice before the agency for alleged ethical violations
  • Defends USPTO employees at deposition
  • Amicus Briefs
  • Federal Circuit Appeals


Office of the Solicitor Staff
Deputy General Counsel for Intellectual Property Law and Solicitor: Nathan Kelley
Secretary: Tasha Gibbs
Attorneys: Amy J. Nelson
Ben Hickman
Brian T. Racilla
Christina J. Hieber
Coke M. Stewart
Elizabeth Ullmer Mendel
Farheena Y. Rasheed
Frances M. Lynch
Jamie Simpson
Jeremiah Helm
Joseph G. Piccolo
Joseph Matal
Kristi L.R. Sawert
Lore Unt
Mary L. Kelly
Melinda DeAtley
Meredith Schoenfeld
Michael Forman
Molly Silfen
Monica Lateef
Robert J. McManus
Ronald K. Jaicks
Scott C. Weidenfeller
Stacy Margolies
Sydney O. Johnson, Jr.
Thomas Casagrande
Thomas W. Krause
Tracy Kepler
William LaMarca
Supervisory Paralegal: Danita Ingram
Paralegals: Kyra Abraham
Laura Peterson
Macia Fletcher
Meryl Vlatas
Natasha Russ
Shane Walter
Tawana Hawkins
Legal Assistants: Denise Miller
Minwell Raynor


United States Patent and Trademark Office
This page is owned by Office of General Counsel.
Last Modified: 4/7/2014 10:11:52 AM