(229)                     U.S. Department of Commerce
              Office of the Assistant Secretary and Commissioner
                           of Patents and Trademarks

                Public Advisory Committee for Trademark Affairs

Agency: Patent and Trademark Office, Commerce 
Action: Notice of Renewal
Summary: In accordance with the provisions of the Federal Advisory
Committee Act, 5 U.S.C. App. (1976), and after consultation with GSA, it
has been determined that the renewal of the charter of the Public
Advisory Committee for Trademark Affairs is in the public interest in
connection with the performance of duties imposed on the Department by
Supplementary Information: The Committee was first established in
September 1970, and its latest renewal was signed on April 3, 1992. The
Committee's purpose is to advise the Patent and Trademark Office
concerning steps which can be taken to increase the efficiency and
effectiveness of administration of the Trademark Act and to provide a
continuing source of knowledge from the private sector to the Government
in the area of international and domestic trademark law.
   Committee members are drawn from the trademark bar, business and
industry, academia, the public at large, and users of the public search
room, and are selected by the Assistant Secretary of Commerce and the
Commissioner of Patents and Trademarks to assure a balanced
representation among members of the trademark community. The Committee
will function solely as an advisory body, and in compliance with the
provisions of the Federal Advisory Committee Act.
For Further Information Contact: Lynne Beresford, Committee Control
Officer, Office of the Assistant Commissioner for Trademarks, U.S.
Patent and Trademark Office, Washington, D.C. 20231, telephone: (703)
305-9464, or Jan Jivatodi, Committee Management Analyst, U.S. Department
of Commerce, Washington, D.C. 20230, telephone: (202) 377-4299.

April 24, 1992                                      HARRY F. MANBECK, Jr.
                                     Assistant Secretary and Commissioner
                                               for Patents and Trademarks

                                [1138 TMOG 58]