Biotechnology/Chemical/Pharmaceutical Customer Partnership- June 30, 2016

The United States Patent and Trademark Office Biotechnology, Chemical and Pharmaceutical (BCP)
Partnership Meeting

 

Thursday, June 30, 2016

10:00am to 5:00pm (EDT)
9:00am to 4:00pm (CDT)

 

We are pleased to announce the USPTO’s next Biotechnology, Chemical and Pharmaceutical Customer Partnership (BCP) Meeting. This BCP meeting expands our long-standing partnership in these industry sectors to customers across the country. The BCP Meeting will be held on June 30, 2016 and will be simultaneously available at locations in the USPTO Headquarters (Alexandria, VA) and the Texas Regional Office (Dallas, TX). During this BCP, participants will be able to interact with Office personnel in person at both locations, or alternatively, via webcast. Please see below for RSVP information on how you can participate.

 

Date and Location:  The Partnership Meeting will be held on June 30th (Thursday) from 10:00am – 5:00pm (EDT) at Alexandria, VA and, at the same time (9:00am – 4:00pm CDT), at Dallas, TX.

Headquarters Location:
USPTO Headquarters
Madison Auditorium
400 Dulany Street 
Alexandria, VA 22314

Texas Regional Office Location:
USPTO Texas Regional Office
207 South Houston St., Suite 159
Dallas, Texas 75202

The Biotechnology, Chemical and Pharmaceutical Customer Partnership was developed to create a collaborative forum for USPTO customers in this industry sector to share ideas, experiences, and insights with USPTO staff.  The BCP is intended to be informal in nature and will include participants from across the industry. 

 Agenda & Schedule

10:00 – 10:10 AM (EDT)  
09:00 – 09:10 AM (CDT)                    

Welcoming and Opening Remarks

Hope Shimabuku, Director, Dallas Regional Office,
USPTO (Dallas)
Jerry Lorengo, Director, TC1600, USPTO (Dallas)
Daniel Sullivan,Director, TC1600, USPTO (Alexandria)
Wanda Walker,Director, TC1600, USPTO (Alexandria)

10:10 – 11:00 AM (EDT) 
09:10 – 10:00 AM (CDT)

 
Stakeholders’ Perspective On Patent Quality Initiative 

Frank P. Grassler, VP for Technology Development,
Office of Technology Development, University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center (Dallas)

11:00 – 11:50  AM (EDT)
10:00 – 10:50 AM (CDT)

Inter Partes Review/Post Grant Review: Status Report and Overview of the New Rules Lora Green, Administrative Patent Judge,
PTAB, USPTO (Alexandria)

11:50 – 12:00 PM  (EDT)                     10:50 – 11:00am (CDT)       

 

BREAK

 

12:00 PM – 12:40 PM (EDT)
11:00 – 11:40 AM (CDT)

Biological Deposit

Gary Benzion, SPE, TC1600 (Alexandria)

12:40 – 1:00 PM (EDT)
11:40 AM – 12:00 PM (CDT)

TC Pendency Brandon Fetterolf, SME/SPE, TC1600 (Alexandria)

1:00 – 1:45 PM (EDT) 
12:00 – 12:45 PM (CDT)

LUNCH

 

1:45 – 3:15 PM (EDT) 
12:45 – 2:15  PM (CDT

101 New Examples; Workshop

Marjorie Moran, SME/SPE, TC1600 (Dallas) 
Zachariah Lucas, QAS, TC1600 (Alexandria) 

3:15 – 3:35 PM (EDT) 
2:15 – 2:35 PM (CDT)

Subject Matter Eligibility, A Stakeholder’s Perspective

Leslie Fischer, Senior Patent Attorney, Novartis Pharmaceuticals Corporation (Alexandria)

3:35 – 3:50 PM (EDT) 
2:35 – 2:50 PM (CDT)

BREAK

 

3:50 – 4:50 PM (EDT) 
2:50 – 3:50 PM (CDT

Subject Matter Eligibility, Panel Discussion

Leslie Fischer, Senior Patent Attorney, Novartis Pharmaceuticals Corporation (Alexandria)

Robert Bahr, Deputy Commissioner for Patent Examination Policy, USPTO (Alexandria)

TC1600 Directors

4:50 – 5:00 PM (EDT) 
3:50 – 4:00 PM (CDT)

Closing Remarks TC1600 and Dallas Regional Office Directors
     
     


RSVP Information

 

Please email USPTOBCP1600@USPTO.GOV to RSVP by June, 27th. Please include “BCP RSVP” in the email subject line.  In the email body, please include the following information: