Biotechnology/Chemical/Pharmaceutical Customer Partnership- April 7, 2015

 

The United States Patent and Trademark Office
Biotechnology, Chemical and Pharmaceutical (BCP) Partnership Meeting

9:00am to 3:00pm (MDT)

 

11:00am to 5:00pm (EDT)

We are pleased to announce the USPTO’s next Biotechnology, Chemical and Pharmaceutical Customer Partnership (BCP) Meeting. This BCP meeting expands our long-standing partnership in this industry sector to customers across the country. The next BCP Meeting will be held on April 7th and will be simultaneously available at locations in the USPTO Headquarters (Alexandria, VA) and the Rocky Mountain Regional Office (Denver Satellite Office). During this BCP, participants will be able to interact with Office personnel in person at both locations, or alternatively, via webcast. Please see below for registration information on how you can participate.

Date and Location: The Partnership Meeting will be held on April 7th from 11:00am – 5:00pm at Alexandria, VA and, at the same time, from 9:00am – 3:00pm at Denver, CO.

Headquarters Location:
USPTO Headquarters
Madison Auditorium
600 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA 22314

Rocky Mountain Regional Office Location:
Longs Peak A Conf. Room (2nd Floor)
Byron G. Rogers Federal Building
1961 Stout Street Denver, CO 80294

 

The Biotechnology, and Chemical and Pharmaceutical Customer Partnership was developed to create a collaborative forum for USPTO customers in this industry sector to share ideas, experiences, and insights with USPTO staff. The BCP is intended to be informal in nature and will include participants from across the industry.

Some of the topics to be discussed by USPTO staff and industry customers will include:

  •  Patent Quality Initiatives
  •  Patent Term Adjustment and Patent Term Extension
  •  Sequence Filings
  •  Interim Guidance on Patent Subject Matter Eligibility (101)

The USPTO looks forward to hearing the individual views from its customers and does not intend to use this forum to seek or arrive at any consensus. This customer partnership is formed with full recognition of the USPTO's responsibility under the Federal Advisory Committee Act (FACA), and accordingly, is not established as FACA compliant committee.

Registration Information

Please email USPTOBCP1600@USPTO.GOV to register by April, 3rd. Please include "BCP Registration" in the email subject line. In the email body, please include the following information:

  •  Your name, title and organization
  •  Contact information (e-mail, phone, etc.)
  •  Your attending location (Alexandria, Denver, or online).

Directions and Parking information

Headquarters Location: USPTO Headquarters, Alexandria, Virginia

 Directions: http://www.uspto.gov/about/contacts/locations/directions.jsp

 Campus map: http://www.uspto.gov/about/locations/alexandriaoffice.jsp

Parking options: http://www.uspto.gov/about/contacts/locations/directions.jsp#heading-6

Denver location: Byron G. Rogers Federal Building, 1961 Stout Street, Denver

 Parking Options and Building Access:

http://www.uspto.gov/about-us/uspto-locations/denver-colorado

For information on past and future meetings and presentations, please go to http://www.aipla.org/committees/committee_pages/Biotechnology/usptobcp/d... and

http://www.uspto.gov/patents/init_events/bcp/index.jsp

Agenda & Schedule

9:00 - 9:20AM (MDT)
11:00 - 11:20AM (EDT)
Welcoming and Opening Remarks

Jerry Lorengo, Director, TC1600, USPTO (Alexandria)
Daniel Sullivan, Director, TC1600, USPTO (Denver)
Wanda Walker, Director, TC1600, USPTO (Alexandria)

Michael Carone, Regional Manager, USPTO (Denver)

9:20 - 10:30 AM (MDT)
11:20 - 12:30 PM (EDT)

Patent Quality Initiatives

 

Quality & Best Practice in
Prosecution Interactions

 

Patent Quality in Biotech and
Chem

 

 

Valencia Martin Wallace, Deputy Commissioner for Patent Quality, USPTO (Alexandria)

Esther Kepplinger, Chief Patent Counselor, Wilson Sonsini Goodrich & Rosati (Alexandria)

Robert Stoll
Partner, Drinker Biddle
(Alexandria)

10:30 - 11:00 AM (MDT)
12:30 - 1:00 PM (EDT)
Break (Lunch for Alexandria)

 

11:00 - 11:50 AM (MDT)
1:00 - 1:50 PM (EDT)
Recent Updates in Patent Term Adjustment and Patent Term Extension Mary Till Senior Advisor, OPLA, USPTO (Alexandria)
Kery Fries Senior Advisor, OPLA, USPTO (Alexandria)
11:50 AM – 12:50 PM (MDT)
1:50 – 2:50 PM (EDT)
Filing Sequence Listings in International and National Stage Applications Susan Wolski International Patent Legal Administration, USPTO (Alexandria)
12:50 - 1:20 PM (MDT)
2:50 - 3:20 PM (EST)
Break (Lunch for Denver)  
1:20 – 2:50 PM (MDT)
3:20 – 4:50 PM (EDT)
Interim Guidance on Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Raul Tamayo, Senior Legal Advisor, OPLA, USPTO (Denver)
June Cohan, Legal Advisor, OPLA, USPTO (Alexandria)
2:50 – 3:00 PM (MDT) 4:50 – 5:00 PM (EDT) Closing Remarks/Discussion Michael Carone, Regional Manager, USPTO (Denver)
Jerry Lorengo, Director, TC1600, USPTO (Alexandria)
Daniel Sullivan, Director, TC1600, USPTO (Denver)
Wanda Walker, Director, TC1600, USPTO (Alexandria)

WebEx and Information Links

Topic: Biotech/Chem/Pharm Customer Partnership Meeting (BCP)
Host: Digital Multimedia1
Date and Time:
Tuesday, April 7, 2015 10:00 am, Eastern Daylight Time (New York, GMT-04:00)
Event number: 640 846 776
Event password: 12345
Event address for attendees: https://uspto-events2.webex.com/uspto-events2/onstage/g.php?MTID=e9bfd2cabe1e6ed6617cde3e763cf27e7

 

-------------------------------------------------------
To join the teleconference only
-------------------------------------------------------
1. Provide your number when you join the event to receive a call back. Alternatively, you can call one of the following numbers:
Dial In: 1-571-270-7000
2. Follow the instructions that you hear on the phone.
Your Cisco Unified MeetingPlace meeting ID: 640 846 776

 

CAPTIONS ACCESS INFORMATION –

To Access Captions during the Event click on link below:
Captions:
http://www.captionedtext.com/client/embed.aspx?EventID=2595722