World IP Day on the Hill


World IP Day


Join us to celebrate World IP Day 2016 on April 26, 2016 at 4:00 p.m. in the Rayburn Foyer.  World IP Day is an event celebrated around the world to promote discussion of the role of intellectual property in encouraging innovation and creativity.  This year the theme is “Digital Creativity” and our speakers will focus their remarks on creativity in the video game industry. 

Immediately following the program, the American Intellectual Property Law Association, the International Trademark Association, the U.S. Chamber of Commerce Global IP Center and the World Intellectual Property Organization will host a reception.  We expect members of the Congressional Trademark to join as well.  Please RSVP below, share with your colleagues and join us!!

RSVP at:

Event Program

This year’s program will focus on “Digital Creativity: Culture Reimagined” through the art of the Video Game

4:05 – 4:10          Introduction and Welcome - Lisa Jorgenson, Executive Director American Intellectual Property Law Association (AIPLA)

4:10 – 4:13          Introduction of World IP Day Video - Shira Perlmutter, Chief Policy Officer and Director for International Affairs

4:13 - 4:16           Video: USPTO Greeting for World IP Day

4:16 – 4:25          Remarks - Michelle Lee, Under Secretary of Commerce for Intellectual Property and Deputy Director, U.S. Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO)

4:25 – 4:35          Remarks - John Sandage, Deputy Director General, World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO)

4:35 – 4:50          Remarks  - Chris Melissinos, Former Chief Gaming Officer at Sun, Founder of, Guest Curator and Creator of “The Art of the Video Game” at the Smithsonian American Art Museum

4:50 – 5:00          Remarks - Bryce D. Coughlin, Senior Counsel, Intellectual Property, Fox Entertainment Group

5:00                    Remarks - Mark Elliot, Executive Vice President, U.S. Chamber of Commerce Global IP Center

                           Remarks -  Invited Member of Congress including: Senators Chuck Grassley and Chris Coons, and Representatives Randy Forbes and Suzan DelBenes

                           Closing Remarks - Etienne Sanz de Acedo, Chief Executive Officer, International Trademark Association (INTA)

5:30 – 6:30          Reception sponsored by AIPLA, WIPO, INTA and GIPC

Exhibit viewing and networking event immediately following the program