2014 Laureates- National Medal of Technology and Innovation

The National Medal of Technology and Innovation (NMTI) is the nation’s highest honor for technological achievement, bestowed by the president of the United States on America's leading innovators. There were 3 laureates in the 2014 class.

Portrait of Dr. Arthur Gossard

Arthur Gossard
University of California, Santa Barbara

Key contributions: Research in the physics of ultra-thin semiconductors through molecular beam epitaxy (MBE), Co-discovered the quantum confined Stark effect and the fractional quantization of the Hall effect



Portrait of Dr. Chenming Hu

Chenming Hu
University of California, Berkeley

Key contributions: Fin Field Effect Transistor



Portrait of Dr. Cato Laurencin

Cato T. Laurencin
University of Connecticut

Key contributions: Soft Tissue Regeneration