USPTO 2016 Administered Exam (only on July 28, 2016 at the USPTO in Alexandria, Virginia)
An examination for individuals seeking registration before the United States Patent and Trademark Office (Office) as patent attorneys and agents will be held July 28, 2016 pursuant to 35 U.S.C. § 2(b)(2)(D) and 37 CFR § 11.7. Friday, May 13, 2016 is the deadline for filing applications along with the appropriate application fee and the $450.00 examination fee and all necessary showings as required by 37 CFR § 11.7(b)(1)(i)(A) through (D). A timely filed application is one that is received in the Office on or before May 13, 2016, or mailed on or before May 13, 2016, in full compliance with the certificate of mailing provisions of 37 CFR § 1.8 or 37 CFR § 1.10. A mere postmark on an envelope is not sufficient to meet the deadline. Applications must bear applicant's original signature and they may not be filed by facsimile or electronically. 37 CFR § 1.4(e).
The USPTO administered examination is given only at the United States Patent and Trademark Office in Alexandria, Virginia. The USPTO administered examination is NOT given at any other location.
The USPTO administered examination will use paper examination booklets, mark-sense answer sheets, and reference materials furnished by the Office. The USPTO administered examination will use the same reference materials used with the computer-delivered examination. A list of these reference (source) materials is available on the USPTO Internet website. For further information and the application form, consult the General Requirements Bulletin available on the USPTO Internet website. A printed copy of the General Requirements Bulletin is available from the OED for a prepaid fee of $15.00 per copy.
Applicants are encouraged to file early to allow ample time for notification and correction of incomplete applications in advance of the July 2016 examination. Applications filed after Friday, May 13, 2016 may be accepted. However, an application filed after the May 13 deadline, and any application filed prior to the May 13 deadline with a deficiency, must be completed on or before Friday, June 17, 2016. All items to complete an application must be received in the Office on or before June 17, 2016, or mailed on or before June 17, 2016, in full compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR § 1.8 or 37 CFR § 1.10.
Registration does not qualify one for practice before the Office in Trademark cases. Such recognition is governed by 37 CFR § 11.14.
For further information, please contact the Office of Enrollment and Discipline by calling (571) 272-4097.
Examination for Registration to Practice in Patent Cases was Updated March 16, 2016
The United States Patent and Trademark Office updated the registration examination on March 16, 2016. The updated examination covers the same topics as the prior examination. The updated examination covers the material from the MPEP Ninth Edition, Revision 07.2015 and the other references as outlined in THE SOURCE MATERIALS FOR THE QUESTIONS AND ANSWERS ON THE REGISTRATION EXAMINATION BEGINNING MARCH 16, 2016.
Notice of Non-Disclosure Agreement
Anyone taking the registration examination is expressly prohibited from disclosing, publishing, reproducing, or transmitting the content, or substantially similar content, of the examination, in whole or in part, in any form or by any means, verbal or written, electronic or mechanical, for any purpose. At each test site, every applicant is required to enter into a non-disclosure agreement as a condition to sitting for the examination. Applicants should expect to encounter the following text on a computer screen at the examination. Click here for more information
Any information tending to show that an applicant failed to abide by the non-disclosure agreement will be considered when making a decision whether to register the applicant for lack of good moral character. See 37 CFR § 11.7(g)(2). If an applicant discloses information that appears to be substantially similar to the content of the examination, OED will consider whether an ordinary reasonable person would recognize the essence of an examination question based upon the information disclosed.
How to Apply and Fee Information:
Computer Delivered Examination
Registration Examination Applicants Review Sessions
Beginning on or about June 04, 2014, those applicants who failed their registration examination will be able to schedule a review session through Prometric at a location selected by the applicant for a fee of $195. Reviews must take place within 65 days after the date of the examination. Applicants will review only those scored questions they answered incorrectly (37 CFR 11.7(e)). Complete instructions for scheduling these review sessions will be provided with the result letters.