Office of International Patent Cooperation


The establishment of the Office of International Patent Cooperation (OIPC) reflects the USPTO's strong commitment to the IP community in improving the international patent system in two basic respects: increasing certainty of IP rights while reducing costs for our stakeholders. Achievements in both of these areas will benefit all economies by fostering increased innovation and subsequent job creation.

The OIPC is comprised of six offices: the International Outreach and Administration, the International Patent Legal Administration, the Work Sharing Planning and Implementation Division, the Office of International Patent Business Solutions, the Classification Standards and Development Division, and the Classification Quality and International Coordination Division.

The Deputy Commissioner for International Patent Cooperation is Valencia Martin Wallace.