USPTO to Administer National Medal of Technology and Innovation

Press Release

Ruth Nyblod or
Jennifer Rankin Byrne
(571) 272-8400 or or

Secretary of Commerce Carlos M. Gutierrez has delegated responsibility for administering the National Medal of Technology and Innovation to the United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO). The medal, presented each year by the president of the United States, is the nation's highest honor for technological achievement. It is awarded to innovators whose efforts have made profound and lasting contributions to the U.S. economy and quality of life. In its new role, the USPTO will replace the Technology Administration, which was abolished by Congress on August 9, 2007.

"We are pleased and honored that Secretary Gutierrez has chosen our agency to oversee the selection and awarding of this most prestigious honor," Under Secretary of Commerce for Intellectual Property and Director of the USPTO Jon Dudas commented. "We look forward to maintaining the standard of excellence the Technology Administration has always brought to this task."

Established by an act of Congress in 1980, the medal was first awarded in 1985. Since that time 175 individuals, teams (of up to four individuals) and companies have received the medal. To learn more about the National Medal of Technology and Innovation go to