U.S. Patent and Trademark Office Marks Bicentennial

Press Release

Brigid Quinn

October 15, 2002
12:00 p.m. ET
The Heritage Foundation
214 Massachusetts Avenue, N.E.

Under Secretary of Commerce for Intellectual Property James E. Rogan will kick-off USPTO's bicentennial events at the Heritage Foundation where he will give a lecture entitled "Reaffirming Intellectual Property Rights in an Information Age." More information on this event can be found at www.Heritage.org.

October 16, 2002
11:00 a.m. - 12:00 p.m. ET
U.S. Department of Commerce
14th and Constitution, N.W.
Room 4830

Under Secretary Rogan and Richard Russell, Associate Director for Technology, White House Office of Science and Technology, will lead a roundtable discussion on the future of innovation in America with 37 of this nation's greatest inventors, including Nobel Prize winners Kary Mullis (chemistry) and Baruch Blumberg (medicine) and the inventors of the personal computer, Steve Wozniak; fiber optics, Donald Keck and Peter Schultz; the computer mouse, Doug Engelbart; and the MRI, Ray Damadian. For the complete list, go to: http://www.uspto.gov/web/offices/ac/ahrpa/opa/bicentennial/inductees.htm .

1:30 - 3:00 p.m. ET
U.S. Department of Commerce

Thirty seven of America's greatest living inventors, all members of the National Inventors Hall of Fame, will join Deputy Secretary Sam Bodman and Under Secretary Rogan in a ceremony commemorating the bicentennial of the United States Patent and Trademark Office. The inventors will receive special awards recognizing them for their contributions to American innovation. There will be a press availability with inventors after this event.

6:30 - 10:00 p.m. ET
Library of Congress
Thomas Jefferson Building
The Great Hall

Commerce Secretary Don Evans will speak at the dinner celebrating USPTO's 200 years and honoring 37 of America's greatest living inventors. Also attending the dinner will be Senator Patrick Leahy, Chairman of the Senate Committee on the Judiciary; Congressman Bob Goodlatte, a member of the House Judiciary Committee; and James H. Billington, the Librarian of Congress.

# # #