Five Outstanding Innovators Named at 23rd Annual National Inventor's Expo Awards Ceremony

Press Release
PAT 95-30

Richard Maulsby
Andrew Hirsch (703) 305-8341

Five inventors were named as "outstanding innovators" at the 23rd Annual National Inventor's Expo and Conference at Walt Disney World Epcot Saturday, September 16. The Expo and Conference, sponsored by the Commerce Department's Patent and Trademark Office, the Intellectual Property Owners (IPO) and Epcot, highlights the important role individual inventors play in shaping our daily lives and in creating the new products, services, companies, and jobs that make our economy grow.

The five outstanding innovators for 1995 are:

1. Dr. Gregg Motsenbocker from California invented Motsenbocker's Liftoff®, a water based and biodegradable family of products that removes graffiti, paint, and stains from all surfaces. (800-346-1633)

2. John Gay and Billy Smith who invented a three dimensional electronic compass that functions like a gyroscope and that orients an object in all three dimensions. (318-322-6516)

3. Lorri Friedman from New York state invented a remote electronic alarm safety system to prevent the abduction of children and to help parents locate missing children. (914-245-7235)

4. James Hanoosh from Connecticut and Mitchell Hanoosh of Massachusetts invented a self righting cane that automatically returns to an upright position because of the patented structure at the bottom of the cane. (203-675-4708)

5. Vincent Vaillancourt from New Jersey invented a sterile connector which will prevent contamination from external bacteria when used in things like intravenous tubes and catheters. (201-428-2884)

A special panel of judges, after reviewing all 125 exhibitors during the first day of exhibition, determined the top five outstanding innovators. The 125 exhibitors at this year's expo came from all parts of the United States and have invented a vast array of products for recreation, safety, the home, automobile and the environment. Each inventor was given a plaque and a $1,000 U.S. savings bond.

The special awards ceremony took place in the Journey to Imagination Pavilion at Epcot. The awards ceremony included speeches by Mr. Gary Griswald, president of IPO and chief counsel for 3M, Mr. Dave Venables, general manager of Epcot, and Bruce A. Lehman, commissioner of the Patent and Trademark Office.