Commerce Secretary Gutierrez Names New Members to Patent and Trademark Public Advisory Committees

Press Release

Jennifer Rankin Byrne or
Ruth Nyblod
Phone: (571) 272-8400 or

Washington, D.C. - U.S. Commerce Secretary Carlos M. Gutierrez recently named three new members to the Patent Public Advisory Committee (PPAC) and three to the Trademark Public Advisory Committee (TPAC). They will serve three-year terms on the committees, which were created by the 1999 American Inventors Protection Act to advise the Under Secretary of Commerce for Intellectual Property and Director of the United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) on the management of patent and trademark operations, respectively, including goals, performance, budget and user fees. The committees have nine voting members who are appointed by and serve at the pleasure of the Secretary of Commerce.

The new PPAC members are:

Louis J. Foreman is founder and chief executive of Enventys, an integrated product design and engineering firm with offices in Charlotte, N.C., and Taiwan. A prolific inventor himself, he frequently lectures on the topics of small business creation and product development as well as intellectual property. Mr. Foreman is the publisher of Inventors Digest, a 20-year-old publication devoted to the topic of American innovation. He was the founding member of the Inventors Network of the Carolinas. He is the executive producer and judge for a new inventor's TV show called Everyday Edisons, which airs nationally on PBS stations.

F. Scott Kieff is a law professor at Washington University in St. Louis and a research fellow at Stanford's Hoover Institution where he runs the Hoover Project on Commercializing Innovation. He serves as a faculty member of the Munich Intellectual Property Law Center in Germany and previously has been a visiting professor in the law schools at Northwestern, Chicago, and Stanford, as well as a faculty fellow in the Olin Program on Law and Economics at Harvard. Having practiced law for over six years as a trial lawyer and patent lawyer for Pennie & Edmonds in New York and Jenner & Block in Chicago, and as law clerk to U.S. Circuit Judge Giles S. Rich, he regularly serves as a testifying and consulting expert, mediator, and arbitrator to law firms, businesses, government agencies and courts.

Damon C. Matteo is vice president and chief intellectual property officer of the Palo Alto Research Center (PARC). His two-decade career in intellectual capital management (ICM) includes extensive experience in the creation, strategic management, venture/funding and commercialization of the full spectrum of corporate intellectual property assets through such vehicles as direct-to-product use, licensing, assertion, start-ups and M&A in North America, Asia and Europe. Among Mr. Matteo's numerous professional awards, he bas been named one of the "Fifty Most Influential People in Intellectual Property" by Managing Intellectual Property magazine; and has received the National Technology Transfer Excellence Award given by the U.S. federal government. Mr. Matteo also serves on the Board of Directors for the European Center for Intellectual Property Studies, and was selected principal industry expert in intellectual capital management for both the U.S. Security & Exchange Commission (SEC) and the United Nations. Mr. Matteo frequently lectures on ICM at universities and professional organizations throughout the world.

The new TPAC members are:

James H. Johnson, Jr., is a practicing attorney in Atlanta at Sutherland Asbill & Brennan LLP. With a practice focused on trademarks and service marks, Mr. Johnson has expertise in unfair competition and domain name disputes, and has been involved in domestic and international trademark matters for Fortune 500® companies. Prior to joining the firm, Mr. Johnson gained trademark experience with The Coca-Cola Company, the Kellogg Company, and at the USPTO as an examining attorney. Mr. Johnson also lectures regularly on trademark and general intellectual property law principles. He is a member of INTA, where he served on the Board of Directors from 1990 to 1993 and from 1995 to 1997, and currently serves as Chairman of the Trademark Committee for the Georgia Bar. Mr. Johnson received his undergraduate degree from Princeton University and his J.D. from the University of Virginia School of Law.

Elizabeth R. Pearce is Director of the Intellectual Property Group at American International Group, Inc., managing the AIG trademark, patent and copyright portfolios, and an executive member of AIG's IP Task Force. She has worked in the IP field for 16 years, seven of those years at AIG, and serves on the Internet Committee and the Internet Whois Subcommittee of the International Trademark Association. In her prior career, Ms. Pearce was a magazine and book editor, notably with Gourmet, Cuisinart, and Time, Inc. She has a B.A. in American Studies from Queens University of Charlotte in North Carolina and a professional certificate in IP law from NYU.

Jeffrey W. Storie is a shareholder in the Fort Worth, Texas law firm of Decker Jones McMackin McClane Hall & Bates, P.C., where he leads the firm's intellectual property practice group. His practice focuses on trademark prosecution, entertainment and intellectual property law transactions and brand protection. Mr. Storie is a member of the International Trademark Association, the American Intellectual Property Law Association, the Brand Protection Council of the American Apparel and Footwear Association and the International Anti-Counterfeiting Coalition (IACC). Mr. Storie has been active in the development of the Texas music community, having served as vice president of the Texas Music Association and an associate editor of the Entertainment and Sports Law Journal of the State Bar of Texas. He is a member of the Intellectual Property Law Section of the State Bar of Texas. Mr. Storie holds a B.A. from Miami University (Ohio) and received his J.D. from the Cumberland School of Law of Samford University.