uspto.gov
Skip over navigation

Biotechnology/Chemical/Pharmaceutical Customer Partnership

The United States Patent and Trademark Office
The First Bicoastal Biotechnology,
East Coast
: USPTO Alexandria Campus, Madison Auditorium, 
West Coast: San Jose State University, Engineering Building Conference Room E285/287

Chemical and Pharmaceutical (BCPCP)
Partnership Meeting

Wednesday, September 17, 2014
9:00am to 2:00pm (PDT)
12:00pm to 5:00pm (EDT)

 

We are pleased to announce the USPTO’s first Bicoastal Biotechnology, Chemical and Pharmaceutical Customer Partnership (BCBCP) Meeting. This inaugural BCBCP expands our long-standing partnership in this industry sector to customers across the country. The next BCBCP Meeting will be held on September 17th and will be simultaneously available at locations on both the EAST (Alexandria, VA) and West (San Jose, CA) coasts.   During the BCBCP, participants will be able to interact with Office personnel in person on both coasts, or alternatively, via webcast. Please see below for registration information on how you can participate.

 

Date and Location:  The Partnership Meeting will be held on September 17th from 12:00pm – 5:00pm on the east coast and, at the same time, from 9:00am – 2:00pm on the west coast. 

 

East Coast Location:

USPTO Headquarters
Madison Auditorium
600 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA 
 

West Coast Location:

San Jose State University
College of Engineering
Conference Room E285/287
San Jose, CA 


The Biotechnology, and Chemical and Pharmaceutical Customer Partnership was developed to create a collaborative forum for USPTO customers in this industry sector to share ideas, experiences, and insights with USPTO staff.  The BCBCP is intended to be informal in nature and will include participants from across the industry. 

The USPTO looks forward to hearing the individual views from its customers and does not intend to use this forum to seek or arrive at any consensus.  This customer partnership is formed with full recognition of the USPTO's responsibility under the Federal Advisory Committee Act (FACA), and accordingly, is not established as FACA compliant committee. 

                                                         

Agenda

9:00-9:10am (PDT) 12:00 – 12:10pm (EDT) Welcoming Remarks
(Introduction to the Inaugural BCBCP)
Margaret A. (Peggy) Focarino, Commissioner for Patents, USPTO (Alexandria)
9:10 – 9:30am (PDT) 12:10-12:30pm (EDT) Opening Remarks John Cabeca, Director, Silicon Valley Office, USPTO (San Jose)
Jerry Lorengo Director, TC1600, USPTO (Alexandria)
Dan Sullivan Director, TC1600, USPTO (San Jose)
Wanda Walker Director, TC1600, USPTO (Alexandria)

 9:30 – 10:20am (PDT) 12:30-1:20pm (EDT)

 Improper Markush Joe Mallon Partner, Knobbe, Martens, Olson & Bear, LLP (San Jose)
10:20 – 10:30am (PDT) 1:20-1:30pm (EDT)  Break  
10:30-11:10am (PDT) 1:30 – 2:10pm (EDT) OPAP Procedure and Tips  Kevin Little Office of Patent Application Processing (OPAP), USPTO (Alexandria)
11:10-11:40am (PDT) 2:10 – 2:40pm (EDT) RCE Statistics and Reduction Initiatives. Brief Overview of AFCP 2.0 & QPIDS, and other Patent Application Initiatives Directors, TC1600 and Silicon Valley Office, USPTO
11:40am –12:40pm (PDT) 2:40-3:40pm (EDT) Discussion (Lunch West Coast) Discussion (East Coast) Directors, TC1600 and Silicon Valley Office, USPTO
12:40 –12:50pm (PDT)  3:40-3:50pm (EDT) Break  
12:50-1:50pm (PDT) 3:50-4:50pm (EDT) Myriad Guidance and CLS Decision

Paul Naik Vice President, Intellectual Property, Genentech, Inc. (San Jose)
Suzannah K. Sundby, Partner, Canady & Lortz LLP (Alexandria)
Jeffery Tung Patent Counsel, Isis Pharmaceuticals (San Jose)
June Cohan Legal Advisory,  OPLA, USPTO (Alexandria)Jerry Lorengo Director, TC 1600, USPTO (Alexandria)
Dan Sullivan Director, TC1600, USPTO (San Jose)

1:50-2:00pm (PDT) 4:50-5:00pm (EDT) Closing Remarks/Discussion John Cabeca, Director, Silicon Valley Office, USPTO (San Jose)
Jerry Lorengo Director, TC1600, USPTO (Alexandria)
Dan Sullivan Director, TC1600, USPTO (San Jose)
Wanda Walker Director, TC1600, USPTO (Alexandria)

 

Back to top

Registration

  Registration Information

 

Please email USPTOBCP1600@USPTO.GOV to register by September, 12th. Please include “BCP Registration” in the email subject line.  In the email body, please include the following information:

  • Your name, title and organization
  • Contact information (e-mail, phone, etc.)
  • Your attending location (Alexandria, San Jose, or online).

 Directions and Parking information

 East Coast Location: USPTO Headquarters, Alexandria, Virginia  

 West Coast location: San Jose University College of Engineering, San Jose, California

 

 

For information on past and future meetings and presentations, please go to http://www.aipla.org/committees/committee_pages/Biotechnology/usptobcp/default.aspx and http://www.uspto.gov/patents/init_events/bcp/index.jsp

 

 

Back to top

WebEx

Digital Multimedia5 invites you to attend a Web seminar using WebEx.

Topic: Bicoastal Biotech/Chem/Pharm Customer Partnership

Host: Digital Multimedia5
Date and Time:
Wednesday, September 17, 2014 11:00 am, Eastern Daylight Time (New York, GMT-04:00)
Event number: 642 123 660
Event password: 12345

Event address for attendees:

https://uspto-events2.webex.com/uspto-events2/onstage/g.php?t=a&d=642123660

 

Back to top

United States Patent and Trademark Office
This page is owned by Technology Center 1600.
Last Modified: 9/9/2014 2:26:29 PM